Beauty

Inkbox (2 Week Tattoo): Yay or Nay?

Have you ever thought of getting a tattoo but afraid that one day you will get bored of it and wished you’ve never gotten one? Or you wish you could change the style every now and then and opt to have a tattoo-free skin whenever you feel like it? Well, I’ve been looking for this kind of tattoo for a long time and I thought I found it.

Inkbox tattoo, as stated on its website, is a “100% organic tattoo” that “give(s) you the look and feel of a real tattoo for 2 weeks”. Its basic concept of tattooing was derived from practices of indigenous tribes of Panama by using pulp of Genipapo or Huito fruit. With this thousands of years ago indigenous knowledge of tattooing, Inkbox tattoo was developed. The difference of this tattoo with a traditional one is that this one sits on your epidermis, while the latter sits on your dermis. This explains why Inkbox tattoo doesn’t stay forever on your skin. The company now has a patented formula of the ink, which was stated on their website as “safe for your skin, pain free, and made from all natural ingredients”.

With the above information, I decided to purchase two Inkbox tattoos to try. The tattoos ranges from $19-$26, correct me if I’m wrong. Sometimes they do sale so it could be like around $18 for one tattoo. I chose Onism (elephant) and Ixo (DNA) for $21 and $23, respectively. You can see the pictures below, which can also be seen on their website.

 

So my story continues. I ordered Inkbox on August 17 this year and it indicated in my confirmation email that the items will be processed in 2-3 business days. The next day, they shipped the items and on the 25th the package was delivered. I was so excited because this will be the first time I will be trying a “tattoo” that will look like a tattoo and will last for 2 weeks.

When I opened the package, I was disappointed because the box is not of its best or better condition and when I opened the box the tattoos are a little bit smeared like it was wet before. I contacted Inkbox and told them about it; they replied that it wasn’t packed like that so it could have happened during the shipping process and asked  me to confirm if all necessary items for the kit are present. They assured me that the smear is only a cosmetic issue and once the back white layer is removed, the leakage will be gone and there will be no issues with the application. So I tried both tattoos.

fullsizerender-11

The kit includes the tattoo of your choice, a glove, a wipe, a cloth, and an inkstruction card. The application took maybe around 30 minutes. Inkbox website has a video on application tutorial for those who are interested. For a written step-by-step application process, below are what I followed in applying the tattoo:

  1. The skin should be clean and dry. Make sure to wash the area of application and dry it completely.
  2. Peel the white backing of the tattoo and stick it to your skin firmly.
  3. Peel the top to reveal ink.
  4. Put the glove on.
  5. Tear the upper corner of the plastic containing the cloth and microwave it for 15 seconds.
  6. While waiting for the microwave, open the wipe and use it to dab only on the blue part.
  7. Get the cloth from the microwave and press it as hard as possible for 30 seconds.
  8. Hold firmly for 15min; apply hard pressure periodically and distribute pressure evenly.
  9. Peel off the inkbox slowly and let it dry for 5 minutes.
  10. Rinse gently with soap and water and gently pat dry.

Note: The tattoo will develop in 24-36 hours.

When I peeled off the Ixo inkbox, I was a bit disappointed because I can barely see the tattoo but I tried to be patient and waited for 24 hours and as time went by I noticed that it became darker. The Onism one started as dark already so I wasn’t worried. Here was how they look:

fullsizerender-12

Sorry for the picture since I wasn’t able to take individual pictures. I didn’t think that I would be writing about it!

Anyhow, the Ixo tattoo on my left forearm didn’t last for very long. After only 5 days from the date of application, it started to fade. It didn’t even last a whole week. The Onism one lasted a little bit more but it didn’t reach the 2 week mark. Well, it was advertised as a two week tattoo but as always, it depends on what activities you do or what you did to maintain it. I didn’t know what I did wrong though and I didn’t even do anything on the course of even a week! I just stayed at home, lazed around, and still it didn’t last. I felt it was a little bit of a waste of $44.

The image shown above are how the Ixo looked on August 30 (left) and on September 1 (right).

Maybe it really depends on your skin. If you are fine getting a temporary tattoo that will last for 2 weeks, or maybe less, and doesn’t care about the price then go for it. For me, it clearly didn’t work. Will I purchase Inkbox again? Probably not. More like 90% not. 😦

Leave a Reply

